Talk to a CFO
Eightx Talk to a CFO
← All Insights

Insights

Kogan.com: Inventory Crisis to Subscription Flywheel

·By Sam Dillon, Managing Partner ·16 min read

Kogan.com statutory revenue fell 36% from FY22 to FY24, but gross profit reached a record $189.9m in FY25 at 38.9% margin. The apparent shrinkage reflects a deliberate model shift: marketplace and subscription revenue is recognised net. Platform-based sales now run at approximately 48% adjusted EBITDA margin; inventory products are sold below cost as a customer acquisition vehicle.

Kogan.com: Inventory Crisis to Subscription Flywheel

Key Takeaways

  • Gross profit is the right top-line for Kogan, not statutory revenue. FY25 gross profit was $189.9m at 38.9% margin. Statutory revenue ($488.1m) understates the business because marketplace and verticals revenue is recognised net (commission only).
  • The FY22 statutory loss of $(35.5)m was primarily non-cash, not an inventory write-down. About $43.6m of non-cash items drove it: $26.6m in equity-based compensation (CEO/COO options) plus $17.0m in Mighty Ape acquisition provisions. Adjusted EBITDA was still positive at $18.9m.
  • Kogan First is a 39.7% CAGR (FY23–FY25) subscription business hiding inside an electronics retailer. Revenue grew from $15.5m (FY22) to $51.3m (FY25). About 90% of subscribers are on annual plans. Members contribute roughly 50% of product gross sales while representing only 26% of the active customer base.
  • Platform-based sales run at approximately 48% adjusted EBITDA margin vs (4.5)% for Kogan Products. Products are sold at or below cost to drive customer acquisition. The margin is made on subscriptions, marketplace commissions, and verticals.
  • FY25 statutory NPAT of $(39.5)m includes a one-off $46.3m non-cash Mighty Ape goodwill write-down. Underlying adjusted EBITDA was $36.8m. The statutory loss reflects an accounting catch-up on an acquisition mispricing, not a deterioration in operating performance.

Most operators and analysts who glance at Kogan.com's ASX filings reach for the wrong number. They see statutory revenue fall from $718.5m (FY22) to $459.7m (FY24) and call it a revenue collapse. It is not. It is an accounting artefact: as Kogan's marketplace and subscription business grew, more of its gross transaction value started being recognised net (commission only) rather than gross. The company that looks like it shrank 36% over two years actually expanded its gross profit base and nearly tripled its adjusted EBITDA margin. Getting this right matters for any operator thinking about the platform-versus-inventory trade-off.

The business model in 60 seconds

The gap between Kogan's numbers starts with three metrics that all get called "revenue" in the same breath:

Gross Sales ($930.9m in FY25) is the total value of transactions across the platform, including the full value of goods sold by third-party marketplace sellers. This is a non-IFRS metric Kogan uses to show total scale.

Statutory Revenue ($488.1m in FY25) is what sits on the income statement. Marketplace and verticals revenue is recognised net under accounting rules: Kogan earns a commission from marketplace sellers, not the full sale price. A $300 TV sold through a third-party marketplace seller might contribute $30 to $40 of statutory revenue.

Gross Profit ($189.9m in FY25, 38.9% gross margin) is the most meaningful performance indicator. Because platform revenue earns close to 100% gross margin (no cost of goods on a commission), the mix shift from product to platform expands gross profit even as statutory revenue flatlines.

The chart above makes the model shift visible. Statutory revenue fell sharply in FY22-FY24 as the business ran off excess inventory and platform revenue (recognised net) became a larger share of the mix. Gross profit dipped in FY23 during the inventory clearance but recovered to record levels in FY24-FY25. The divergence between the two lines is the story.

When operators come to us trying to benchmark against a publicly traded comps set, one of the most common errors we see is treating statutory revenue as the only top-line measure. For any business running a marketplace or subscription alongside a product range, gross profit is almost always the cleaner signal. For broader context on how Australian eCommerce benchmarks compare, see our Australian eCommerce KPI benchmark report.

The COVID inventory bet that almost broke them

Between FY20 and FY21, Kogan doubled its inventory investment to capitalise on the online shopping surge. By 30 June 2021, inventory had peaked at $227.9m, the highest in the company's history. When normalised post-COVID demand arrived in FY22, Kogan was holding roughly six months of stock in a market that no longer needed it.

The sequence played out over three years:

FY22: Inventory fell from $227.9m to $159.9m as discounting began. Elevated warehousing costs, heavy marketing spend to shift product, and compressed gross margin (25.7%) all landed simultaneously. Statutory NPAT was $(35.5)m.

1HFY23: The clearance turned aggressive. Gross margin fell to the low-20s in the first half of FY23, the weakest in the company's history.

2HFY23: The excess cleared. Gross margin recovered to 34.4% in the second half as normalised product mix returned.

FY23 year-end: Inventory stood at $68.2m, down $91.7m in a single year.

ItemFY22 AmountWhy Adjusted Out
Statutory NPAT$(35.5)mReported statutory result
Equity-based comp (CEO/COO options)+$26.6mNon-cash; CEO/COO options at $5.29 strike (AGM Nov 2020)
Mighty Ape Tranche 3 and 4 provision+$17.0mNon-cash accrual; contingent on founder retention
Unrealised FX losses+$2.2mNon-cash; open FX contracts at year-end
Bitbuy domain sale income$(5.1)mOne-off gain removed from adjusted result
Tax effect of adjustments$(8.1)mEffective tax on deductible adjustments
Adjusted NPAT$(2.9)mUnderlying operating result
Source: Kogan.com FY22 Results Presentation, Annexure 2, p.31. Adjusted EBITDA was positive at $18.9m in the same period.

What the FY22 statutory loss was NOT: primarily inventory write-downs. This is the most common misreading. The actual provision for aged and slow-moving stock was $4.9m in FY22, up modestly from $2.4m in FY21. The dominant drivers were non-cash accounting items totalling $43.6m: equity-based compensation for the CEO and COO options granted at the November 2020 AGM (valued at grant date under accounting rules) plus non-cash accruals for Mighty Ape acquisition tranche payments.

The operator lesson is still real: elevated inventory is expensive without any write-downs at all. Holding $160m of slow-moving stock means warehousing costs, insurance, and handling running continuously against compressed margins. Kogan's margin compression was the cash cost of carrying and then clearing that inventory.

Returns are quietly eating your margin. See by how much.

Get our Real Cost of Returns calculator: plug in your numbers, see the true hit per return.

On its way.

Check your inbox. We'll send the Real Cost of Returns calculator shortly.

Kogan First: the subscription hiding inside an electronics retailer

The structural shift that changed Kogan's margin profile started with a loyalty program that looks, from the outside, like an Amazon Prime clone. Economically, it behaves more like a SaaS product.

Kogan First charges $79/year for free express shipping, everyday discounts, exclusive deals, Kogan Rewards credits, and priority customer service. Revenue has grown from $15.5m (FY22) to $26.3m (FY23) to $43.7m (FY24) to $51.3m (FY25), a 39.7% CAGR over the most recent two years. About 90% of subscribers are on annual plans, which creates a deferred income balance on the balance sheet and makes churn a lagging rather than leading signal.

The October 2022 price increase from $59/year to $79/year (a 34% lift) is particularly instructive. It drove $10.8m of incremental revenue in FY23, a 69.6% increase on FY22's $15.5m, with what appears to be minimal churn impact: subscriber count grew from 372,000 (FY22) to 401,000 (FY23) despite the higher price. By FY24, subscribers had reached 502,000+. FY25 subscriber count was not disclosed in any filed document; at $79/year and $51.3m of subscription revenue, the implied subscriber count is approximately 649,000 (rough estimate: ignores monthly plan mix and the new FIRST MAX premium tier pricing).

The operating logic is the same one Amazon has proven with Prime: subscribers buy more. Kogan First members contribute approximately 50% of Kogan.com product gross sales despite representing roughly 26% of active customers in FY24. That concentration implies (by the 50%/26% ratio) that a FIRST subscriber purchases at roughly 3x the rate of a non-member.

When we talk to founders running loyalty programs at comparable scale, the number they consistently underestimate is pricing power. If renewal rates are above 80% and members show meaningfully higher purchase frequency, there is typically room to raise the annual subscription price well beyond what instinct suggests. Kogan's result demonstrates this: the 34% price increase in October 2022 added more incremental subscription revenue in one year than the prior two years of subscriber growth combined.

Marketplace and verticals: the capital-light engine

Platform-based Sales (Kogan's label for marketplace commissions, Kogan First, verticals, and advertising combined) generated $111.9m of revenue in FY25 at approximately 48% adjusted EBITDA margin. Kogan Products (the inventory-based retail business) generated $258.1m of revenue at roughly (4.5)% adjusted EBITDA margin.

That asymmetry is the strategy, not a problem.

DivisionFY25 RevenueApprox Gross MarginAdj EBITDA MarginNotes
Platform-based Sales$111.9m~100%~48%Marketplaces, Kogan First, Verticals, Advertising; no cost of goods
Kogan Products$258.1m~18.7%~(4.5)%Exclusive brands and third-party brands; sold at or below cost for customer acquisition
Group (incl. Mighty Ape)$488.1m38.9%7.5%Mighty Ape products ($118m revenue) make up the balance
Source: Kogan.com FY25 Results Presentation, Annexures 3, 4, 7 (pp.25-30). Kogan Products gross margin derived: $48.2m GP / $258.1m revenue = 18.7%.

Kogan's own FY25 presentation is explicit: "Products are sold at or below cost to drive unbeatable value." The product division is structurally unprofitable at the EBITDA level. It exists to acquire and retain active customers who, once converted to Kogan First subscribers, generate high-margin recurring revenue. Every product transaction that converts a new customer into a subscriber shifts future margin from the product column into the platform column.

By FY25, Platform-based Sales represented over 66% of Kogan.com gross sales (excluding Mighty Ape) and were growing at 26.9% CAGR since FY23. The platform revenue share has expanded every year since the program launched.

The operators we work with who have struggled with this kind of transition typically hit the same problem: they try to run both models at full margin simultaneously. The product division gets squeezed to improve blended EBITDA, customer acquisition slows, subscription conversions fall, and the flywheel decelerates. Kogan's approach is more internally consistent: accept the product-level loss, fund it from platform profits, and measure success on subscriber count and platform revenue trajectory rather than blended EBITDA.

The Mighty Ape problem

Kogan acquired Mighty Ape (New Zealand's largest eCommerce platform) in December 2020, paying across multiple tranches through FY23. The acquisition performed through FY24: adjusted EBITDA of $12.3m (FY22), $9.0m (FY23), and $7.4m (FY24) on revenue of $163.4m, $154.8m, and $145.9m respectively.

FY25 was a different story. In October 2024, Kogan migrated Mighty Ape onto a new platform. The migration caused immediate, severe disruption: marketing efficiency collapsed, inventory gaps emerged heading into the critical peak-season window, and the New Zealand macro environment was already under pressure from interest rate rises and cost-of-living headwinds. Mighty Ape FY25: revenue fell to $122.1m, adjusted EBITDA turned negative at $(0.1)m, gross sales dropped to $137.0m.

Kogan wrote off all remaining Mighty Ape goodwill: a $46.3m non-cash charge. This turned what would otherwise have been a positive statutory result into $(39.5)m NPAT for FY25.

The adjusted versus statutory divergence has been a feature of every year in this dataset. FY22: statutory $(21.8)m EBITDA versus adjusted $18.9m. FY23: statutory $(20.8)m versus adjusted $6.8m. FY24: the first year both were positive. FY25: statutory $(15.9)m versus adjusted $36.8m. Understanding why they differ, and whether the adjustments are legitimate, is the core skill for reading any ASX eCommerce company's accounts.

In Kogan's case, the adjustments are largely defensible. Equity-based compensation to executives is a genuine non-cash expense: the economic cost was absorbed at grant date, not at vesting. Goodwill write-downs are accounting catch-ups on acquisition mispricings, not operating deterioration. The trend to track is adjusted EBITDA margin: 2.6% (FY22), 1.4% (FY23), 8.7% (FY24), 7.5% (FY25). That is a real underlying improvement, modestly diluted by the Mighty Ape disruption in FY25.

What this means for your eCommerce business

Three patterns from Kogan's trajectory transfer directly to operators at smaller scale.

Subscriptions change your inventory equation. If FIRST members contribute 50% of product gross sales while representing 26% of the active customer base, Kogan can hold fewer SKUs and less depth per SKU: its best customers are on predictable annual cycles. For any brand with a loyalty program driving similar purchase concentration, the right question is: what is the optimal inventory level when your top customer cohort is on annual subscriptions? The answer is nearly always lower than the current stocking level.

Marketing sequencing matters as much as marketing level. Kogan deliberately cut active customers from 3.97m (FY22) to 2.61m (FY24) by pulling back marketing spend during the recovery phase. Then it reinvested aggressively from 2QFY25, recovering to 3.52m Group active customers by FY25 year-end (with Kogan.com standalone customers up 48.3% YoY to 2.83m). The reinvestment timing was intentional: margins had stabilised and the platform economics justified customer acquisition spend again. Running the sequence in reverse, investing to grow customers before the margin base is stable, is the more common operator error.

Platform migrations carry disproportionate risk near peak trading. The Mighty Ape October 2024 platform migration is a precise case study in what happens when a replatforming project misses the peak season. The quantifiable cost: from $7.4m adjusted EBITDA in FY24 to $(0.1)m in FY25, plus a $46.3m goodwill write-down. For any operator planning a replatforming, the calculation is straightforward: what is your revenue exposure in the peak 90 days? If it exceeds the cost of delaying by 12 months, delay.

The Kogan story is not a revenue collapse followed by a recovery. It is a deliberate model transition from a capital-intensive inventory business to a platform-first structure, executed under real financial pressure, without raising additional equity. The inventory crisis accelerated the decision. The subscription flywheel funded the exit.

Kogan sits alongside other ASX-listed online retailers we have torn down: see the Temple and Webster teardown for a pure-play model and the Cettire teardown for drop-ship luxury economics. For the local context, see our Australian fractional CFO guide, and if you want a second read on your own marketplace and subscription mix, that is core to our virtual CFO services.

Sources and methodology

Audited ASX financial statements. All statutory figures (revenue, gross profit, NPAT, EPS, balance sheet) are sourced from the Kogan.com FY25 Appendix 4E and Financial Statements filed with the Australian Securities Exchange, available at kogancorporate.com. This is the audited primary document for all FY25 statutory figures.

Results presentations (non-IFRS and segment data). Adjusted EBITDA, Platform-based Sales splits, Kogan First subscriber counts, and active customer data are sourced from Kogan.com's investor results presentations for FY22 through FY25. These are unaudited at presentation date. The FY25 presentation is available at kogancorporate.com.

Annual reports (supplementary and historical data). The 5-year NPAT and adjusted EBITDA series, Kogan First subscriber trajectory, and Mighty Ape segment performance are confirmed in the FY23, FY24, and FY25 Annual Reports. The FY25 Annual Report is available at kogancorporate.com. The FY23 Annual Report, which documents the $91.7m inventory reduction, is at kogancorporate.com.

Gross Sales vs Revenue distinction. Kogan's own definition: Gross Sales is the total transaction value across all channels (a non-IFRS GMV metric); Statutory Revenue recognises only the net commission or seller fee for marketplace and verticals lines. This is consistent with IFRS 15 agent-versus-principal revenue recognition and applies to all marketplace-model businesses.

Adjusted EBITDA adjustments. The gap between statutory and adjusted EBITDA includes equity-based compensation ($26.6m in FY22, $31.3m in FY23), Mighty Ape acquisition accruals, unrealised FX movements, non-cash D&A from acquisition intangibles, and the FY25 goodwill write-down of $46.3m. Full adjustment schedules are published in the Results Presentation annexures filed with the ASX.

FY25 Kogan First subscriber count. Not disclosed in any FY25 ASX filing. The estimate of approximately 649,000 subscribers is derived from $51.3m revenue at $79/year annual pricing and is indicative only. Actual count depends on the monthly-versus-annual plan mix and adoption of the new FIRST MAX premium tier.

Frequently asked questions

what is kogan's real revenue: is it $488m or $930.9m?

Both numbers are real but measure different things. Gross Sales ($930.9m in FY25) is the total transaction value across the platform. Statutory revenue ($488.1m) is what Kogan actually recognises under accounting rules: only the commission earned from marketplace sellers and verticals, not the full GMV. Gross profit ($189.9m) is the most useful operating metric.

why did kogan's gross margin jump from 25% to 39% in three years?

Two drivers. First, the painful FY23 inventory clearance is behind them: Kogan sold down $91.7m of excess stock at compressed margins in FY23 and never needs to repeat that. Second, platform-based revenue (subscriptions, marketplace commissions, verticals) now makes up over 66% of Kogan.com gross sales and earns close to 100% gross margin. More platform in the mix lifts the blended rate.

what actually caused kogan's big losses in fy22 and fy23?

Both years are widely misread as inventory write-down stories. In FY22, the dominant driver was $43.6m of non-cash items: $26.6m in equity-based compensation (CEO/COO options granted at the November 2020 AGM) plus $17.0m in Mighty Ape acquisition accruals. Adjusted EBITDA was positive at $18.9m. In FY23, similar non-cash charges applied, plus the genuine margin pain of clearing excess stock at thin margins in the first half.

what happened with the mighty ape acquisition and is it working?

Kogan acquired Mighty Ape (New Zealand's largest eCommerce platform) in late 2020 and paid out across tranches through FY23. It contributed steady adjusted EBITDA of $7-12m per year through FY24. A major platform migration in October 2024 caused severe disruption: marketing efficiency collapsed, peak season inventory gaps appeared, and Kogan wrote off all remaining goodwill ($46.3m non-cash) in FY25. Mighty Ape adjusted EBITDA fell from $7.4m in FY24 to negative $(0.1)m in FY25.

how does kogan first compare to amazon prime economics?

The structural logic is identical: charge an annual subscription, use shipping and discount benefits to drive purchase frequency, and measure the member contribution to total product sales. Kogan First members contribute about 50% of product gross sales while representing roughly 26% of active customers in FY24. At $79/year and 90% on annual plans, the revenue behaves more like software ARR than retail revenue.

why does kogan have almost no debt despite years of statutory losses?

Because the statutory losses were largely non-cash: equity compensation, acquisition provisions, and a goodwill write-down. Operating cash flow stayed positive every year: $61.8m (FY22), $70.9m (FY23), $28.2m (FY24), $37.3m (FY25). The business self-funded its inventory correction and the transition to a platform model without raising additional equity.

is kogan a product company or a platform company now?

Platform, by margin. Products ($258.1m revenue in FY25) run at approximately (4.5)% adjusted EBITDA margin: sold at or below cost to acquire customers. Platform-based sales ($111.9m: subscriptions, marketplace commissions, verticals, advertising) run at approximately 48% adjusted EBITDA margin. Kogan's own words: products are sold at or below cost to drive unbeatable value. The profit comes from what those customers do next.

About the Author

Sam Dillon, Managing Partner, APAC

Sam is Managing Partner of Eightx APAC. Melbourne-based Chartered Accountant with 15+ years across DTC ecommerce, marketing services, and venture capital. Previously scaled a consumer brand from $5M to $20M as first finance hire, and started his career in tax and small-business advisory before joining Balderton Capital as an analyst on Europe's largest venture deal team.

Running an eCommerce business and watching your margin compress?

Get the operator read on your unit economics before your next inventory cycle

30-minute call. We'll benchmark your gross margin, inventory turns, and subscription economics against what the data actually shows.

Talk to a CFO