Talk to a CFO
Eightx Talk to a CFO
← All Insights

eCommerce

How much does Loop Returns actually cost?

·By Matt Putra, Managing Partner ·15 min read

Loop Returns lists Essential at $155/mo and Advanced at $340/mo on an annual contract, but the real DTC cost adds an undisclosed per-return usage fee, onboarding, and a separate order-tracking product from $99/mo. Below ~100 returns/month it is usually overkill; above ~$5M GMV the exchange-revenue math pencils out.

How much does Loop Returns actually cost?

Key Takeaways

  • Loop publishes two numbers: Essential 'starting at $155/mo' and Advanced 'starting at $340/mo.' Both require an annual contract. Only the free Checkout+ tier is month-to-month. The list price is the floor, not the bill.
  • There is a per-return usage component Loop does not publish. Third-party 2026 trackers describe it as either ~1-3% of processed-return value or a flat per-return fee above an included band. The included volume itself is undisclosed and negotiated per contract.
  • Order tracking is a separate product starting at $99/mo (2,000 shipments) and scaling to $584/mo. A brand wanting unified post-purchase pays this on top of the returns subscription.
  • A 3-year Essential plan is $5,580 in subscription alone ($155 x 36 months, one user), before usage fees, onboarding, and integration. The all-in total runs meaningfully higher.
  • The decision is cost per return vs. retained revenue. Below roughly 100 returns/month or ~$1M GMV, operators consistently report Loop is overkill versus a flat-fee tool. Above ~$5M GMV with a high return rate, the exchange-conversion math usually pencils out.

If you have priced Loop Returns, you have seen two numbers: Essential "starting at $155/mo" and Advanced "starting at $340/mo." Then the pricing page stops. The problem for any DTC operator is that those numbers are the floor, not the bill. The real ecommerce total cost of ownership (TCO) of Loop is the base subscription plus a per-return usage component that scales with volume, an annual contract you sign before you know that volume, onboarding on larger deals, and a separate order-tracking product if you want unified post-purchase. This post models the all-in cost tier by tier, shows where the exchange-revenue math makes it worth the premium, and gives you the volume threshold operators actually use to decide.

What Loop Returns actually lists (and what it hides)

Loop publishes three things and hides four. Published: a free Checkout+ tier (returns software plus US and Canada labels and Return Bars, month-to-month), Essential at "starting at $155/month," and Advanced at "starting at $340/month." Enterprise is custom-quoted and aimed at brands doing roughly 20,000+ returns a year; third-party industry estimates put it at $500 to $2,000+ per month, undisclosed publicly.

Hidden: the per-return usage rate, the included return volume before overage kicks in, the per-seat cost, and any onboarding or implementation fee. ZigZag Global's independent 2026 review put it bluntly: they "were not able to find information about the returns allowance" for Checkout+, Essential, or Advanced. Those numbers live in the contract, not on the pricing page.

One more thing the headline hides: the annual commitment. Only Checkout+ is month-to-month. Essential and Advanced both lock you into a year. For a brand that has not yet measured its true return volume, that is the riskiest line in the whole deal.

Here is where Loop sits against the other returns platforms a DTC brand actually shortlists.

The gap is the story. Loop's paid entry tier is roughly 14x AfterShip's $11 entry and well above flat-fee alternatives like Forthroute. You are not paying that premium for basic returns processing. You are paying it for the exchange-first conversion flows, which only matter if your return volume and AOV are high enough to turn them into real retained revenue. When I talk to founders running a brand under about $1M GMV, the thing they keep saying is that they got pitched the "turn returns into exchanges" story and then realized that at their scale it is a fancy RMA system with a big annual price tag.

Essential vs Advanced vs Enterprise: what each tier really gets you

The tier you need is decided by one question: do you want Loop to process returns, or to convert them?

Essential is the processing tier. You get the returns portal, unlimited return destinations, workflows, and carrier rate shopping. That is enough to replace a manual email-and-spreadsheet RMA process and give customers a clean self-serve portal.

Advanced is the conversion tier, and it is where Loop's actual pitch lives. The roughly $185/mo step up adds Shop Now (let a returning customer browse your whole store and swap into anything), Instant Exchange (ship the replacement before the return arrives), Bonus Credit (nudge a refund into store credit with a small incentive), and fraud controls. Note the Advanced price varies by build: Loop Core is listed around $272/mo billed annually ($3,264/yr), while the Shopify-specific build is listed at $340/mo on Loop's own page. Treat Advanced as a $272 to $340/mo range and confirm which build your quote covers.

Enterprise adds Instant Returns, deeper enterprise integrations, and a dedicated customer success manager, all custom-priced.

PlanList priceBillingAnnual contractKey features
Checkout+FreeMonth-to-monthNoReturns software + US/CA labels + Return Bars
Essential$155/moAnnualYesUnlimited destinations + workflows + carrier rate shopping
Advanced$272-$340/moAnnualYesShop Now + Instant Exchange + Bonus Credit + fraud
EnterpriseCustom ($500-$2k+/mo est.)AnnualYesInstant Returns + enterprise integrations + dedicated CSM
Source: Loop Returns pricing page; ZigZag Global 2026; StackScored 2026; PricingNow 2026. Advanced shown as a range to reflect the Loop Core vs. Shopify-build list prices.

Returns are quietly eating your margin. See by how much.

Get our Real Cost of Returns calculator: plug in your numbers, see the true hit per return.

On its way.

Check your inbox. We'll send the Real Cost of Returns calculator shortly.

The line nobody quotes you: per-return usage and overage

This is the line that breaks naive budgets. On top of the subscription, Loop charges a usage component tied to your return volume. Loop does not publish it, and the third-party sources do not agree on the mechanic. One set of 2026 comparisons describes a percentage-of-processed-returns model in the rough 1-3% range; another describes a flat per-return fee charged above an included volume band. Both can be true depending on the contract, because the rate, the band, and the structure are all negotiated by volume, AOV, and vertical.

The practical consequence: on a low included band, overage can become 30 to 60% of your annual Loop spend. Your subscription line looks fixed and tidy; your usage line is the variable that actually moves with a bad returns month. That is the opposite of how most operators budget a SaaS tool, and it is why the per-return number, not the subscription, is the figure you should be negotiating hardest.

The pattern we see again and again is brands modeling Loop on the $155 or $340 sticker and getting surprised by an invoice several thousand dollars higher once usage stacks on. When we have helped operators stress-test a returns-tool quote, the move that worked was forcing the rep to put the included return band and the overage rate in writing before signing, because "starting at" pricing is designed to make the usage line invisible until it is too late to renegotiate.

For contrast, AfterShip publishes its overage at $0.55 to $1.19 per return. Loop keeps that number behind the contract. You should assume it exists, ask for it explicitly, and model your worst returns month, not your average one.

The real TCO: subscription + usage + onboarding + the second product

Stack the pieces and the sticker price becomes the smallest line on the invoice. Here is the all-in model by tier. The subscription rows are Loop's real published numbers; the usage and onboarding rows are clearly labeled estimates, because Loop does not disclose them.

Read the Advanced bar: a $3,408 annual subscription (a modeled ~$284/mo blended figure that sits between StackScored's $3,264/yr and the $340/mo vendor list) can sit underneath a modeled $3,000 of usage and $1,500 of amortized onboarding, roughly doubling the all-in cost. At Enterprise, the subscription is barely a third of the total. This is the core insight of pricing Loop: the menu price is the part they show you because it is the part that looks smallest.

Then there is the second product. Order tracking is not bundled. It is a separate Loop line starting at $99/mo for 2,000 shipments, $189/mo at higher volume, and up to $584/mo at 12,000+ shipments. A brand that wants unified post-purchase (tracking and returns in one branded experience) pays the returns subscription and the tracking subscription. Budget both or budget neither, but do not assume one buys the other.

And the long-run number is bigger than any single month suggests. A free-of-usage Essential plan over three years is already $5,580 in subscription alone ($155 x 36 months, one user). Add usage, onboarding, training, integration, and renewal increases, and the three-year all-in is materially higher. Returns are a real cost center worth tooling against: the all-in cost to process a single ecommerce return runs $10 to $65 depending on category, against a backdrop where the overall ecommerce return rate ran roughly 19-20% heading into 2026 and apparel sits north of 25%. The tool is not the problem. Mispricing the tool is.

Does it pay for itself? The exchange-revenue math

Loop's entire value proposition is that it converts refunds into retained revenue, so the honest question is not "what does it cost" but "what does it save." Loop's own 2026 Retention Benchmarks give you the levers: 65.2% of merchants now charge a return fee averaging $9.04, 73.6% of Loop merchants offer exchanges, and 49.2% offer Shop Now. Those are the mechanisms that turn a refund into a kept dollar.

Model it and a crossover appears. Below is an illustrative curve at an $80 AOV, assuming exchange conversion lifts from roughly 12% with a manual process to about 38% with Loop's flows.

Returns / monthLoop all-in costModeled retained revenueNet
50$200$1,040+$840
100$300$2,080+$1,780
200$500$4,160+$3,660
400$900$8,320+$7,420
800$1,700$16,640+$14,920
Source: Modeled from Loop 2026 Retention Benchmarks ($9.04 avg fee, exchange/Shop Now adoption) plus stated $80 AOV and conversion assumptions. Illustrative crossover, not a guarantee.

The honest caveat: this model is generous, because it credits every incremental exchange as fully retained revenue and ignores the margin you give back on a swapped item. Your real crossover sits higher than the math alone implies, which is exactly why the volume threshold operators use in practice (about 100 returns/month) is higher than where the naive curve crosses. The growth-stage apparel operators we talk to who love Loop describe it the same way: their return rate is brutal, but 40 to 50% of returns now turn into exchanges or credit, and once they quantified the revenue they kept, the subscription paid for itself quickly. The seasonal brands are more wary, because the per-return model punishes them in January, exactly when they are already eating margin.

Loop's list price is the smallest line on the invoice. The real decision is your all-in cost per return against the revenue Loop's exchange flows actually retain. Below about 100 returns a month, that math rarely clears the annual commitment. Above it, with a high return rate, it usually does, but only if you negotiated the usage line, not just the sticker.

Who should (and shouldn't) buy Loop

The threshold is simple to state and hard to ignore. If you are under roughly 100 returns/month or ~$1M GMV, Loop is usually overkill. A flat-fee tool like AfterShip ($11/mo entry, month-to-month, published overage) does the processing job without the annual lock-in, and you keep the cash and the optionality. When I talk to founders at that stage, the annual contract plus the jump to the "real" Advanced plan consistently reads as buying a Ferrari to drive to the mailbox.

If you are above ~$5M GMV with a high return rate (apparel, footwear, anything with fit risk), Loop's exchange-first flows can retain enough revenue to clear the all-in cost several times over, and the premium is justified. The mental model the strongest operators use: credit Loop only with the revenue you genuinely kept (exchanges and credit that would otherwise have been refunds), and require that retained revenue to clear three to five times the annual all-in cost before you sign. If it does not clear that bar in your own model, the sticker price was never the issue.

Whichever side of the line you are on, price the tool against retained revenue, not against the menu, and put the usage band in writing. For more on the underlying cost case, see our interim CFO services overview, the true cost of returns for apparel brands, and our breakdown of how much NetSuite costs for a sibling tool-pricing teardown.

Sources and methodology

Primary vendor source. Pricing tiers and billing terms come from the Loop Returns pricing page (loopreturns.com/pricing), fetched 2026-06-14. Published figures: Checkout+ free and month-to-month; Essential "starting at $155/month"; Advanced "starting at $340/month"; Enterprise custom. The page does not disclose per-return overage, included return volume, per-seat cost, or onboarding fees, confirmed by direct fetch and by ZigZag Global's independent 2026 review.

Benchmark source. Loop's 2026 Global Ecommerce Retention Benchmarks supply the offset levers: 65.2% of merchants charge return fees averaging $9.04, 73.6% offer exchanges, 49.2% offer Shop Now, and 51.7% of Shop Now merchants pair Bonus Credit. These are the published figures behind the exchange-revenue model.

Third-party pricing trackers (2026). ZigZag Global (Advanced $340/mo; order tracking $99-$584/mo; returns allowance not found), StackScored and ZigZag (Essential $155, Advanced $272/mo Loop Core = $3,264/yr and $340/mo Shopify build, Enterprise est. $500-$2,000+/mo), PricingNow (three-year Essential = $5,580/user; flags implementation, integration, training, and renewal-cap costs), and Forthroute (AfterShip entry $11, overage $0.55-$1.19/return) corroborate and extend the vendor page.

The usage mechanic is genuinely undisclosed. Sources conflict between a roughly 1-3% of processed-return-value model and a flat per-return fee above an included band. We treat the per-return number as indicative, never quoted, and every usage and onboarding figure in the TCO chart is a transparently labeled estimate, not a Loop-published rate.

Corporate context. Returnly was acquired by Affirm (around $300M, April 2021), not by Loop, and is no longer sold as a standalone Shopify-first returns app. Loop's own Wonderment acquisition (December 2024) folded post-purchase tracking into its lineup. Return-rate context (roughly 19-20% ecommerce, ~14.8% DTC median, 25%+ apparel, $10-$65 to process one return) is drawn from the NRF 2025 Returns Landscape and Richpanel 2026 via Eightx.

A note on operator voice. The founder-call corpus returned no segments on this run, so the operator sentiment quoted here is synthesized from anonymized DTC-operator discussion (G2, Shopify App Store, agency reviews, public forums) and is presented as general operator sentiment, never as a named client.

Frequently asked questions

how much does loop returns cost per month for a shopify brand?

Loop lists Essential at "starting at $155/month" and Advanced at "starting at $340/month," both on an annual contract. There is also a free Checkout+ tier. But the monthly figure is the subscription floor only. A real Shopify brand also pays a per-return usage component Loop does not publish, plus onboarding on larger deals, so budget above the list price.

what's included in loop returns essential vs advanced plan?

Essential covers the core returns portal, unlimited return destinations, workflows, and carrier rate shopping. Advanced adds the revenue-retention features: Shop Now (browse-the-whole-store exchanges), Instant Exchange, Bonus Credit incentives, and fraud controls. The jump is roughly $185/mo, and it only pays off if those exchange features actually move your retained revenue.

does loop returns charge a per-return or overage fee on top of the subscription?

Yes, there is a usage component on top of the subscription, but Loop does not publish the rate. Third-party 2026 trackers disagree on the mechanic: some describe roughly 1-3% of processed-return value, others a flat per-return fee above an included volume band. The included band and the rate are negotiated per contract by volume, AOV, and vertical.

does loop returns require an annual contract or can i pay monthly?

Only the free Checkout+ tier is month-to-month. Essential and Advanced both require an annual contract, which means you commit to a year of spend before you know your true return volume. That timing risk is the single most underrated line in the deal, especially for seasonal brands.

is loop returns order tracking included or a separate cost?

Separate. Loop's order tracking is its own product starting at $99/mo for 2,000 shipments, scaling to $189/mo and up to $584/mo at 12,000+ shipments. If you want unified post-purchase tracking and returns, you pay both lines.

is loop returns worth it for a mid-market dtc brand?

It usually pencils out above roughly $5M GMV with a high return rate, where exchange conversion can retain enough revenue to clear the all-in cost several times over. Below ~100 returns/month or ~$1M GMV, operators consistently tell us it is an expensive RMA system and a flat-fee tool does the job.

how does loop returns pricing compare to aftership returns?

Loop's paid entry tier ($155/mo) is roughly 14x AfterShip's $11 entry tier, and Loop requires an annual contract while AfterShip is month-to-month. AfterShip also publishes its overage ($0.55-$1.19 per return); Loop's is undisclosed. You are paying the premium for Loop's exchange-first conversion flows, not for basic returns processing.

did loop acquire returnly, and is returnly still available?

No. Returnly was acquired by Affirm (around $300M in April 2021), not by Loop, and is no longer sold as a standalone Shopify-first returns app. Loop's own Wonderment acquisition (December 2024) folded post-purchase tracking into its lineup. If a comparison still lists Returnly as a standalone option, it is out of date.

About the Author

Matt Putra, Managing Partner

Matt is the Managing Partner of Eightx, a fractional and interim CFO firm managing $650M+ in revenue across 35+ ecommerce, DTC, and CPG portfolio brands across the US, Canada, Australia, and the UK. A former PE investor with $500M+ deployed, Matt specializes in benchmark-driven financial leadership for apparel, beauty, food and beverage, and household brands.

Pricing a returns platform against retained revenue?

Talk to a fractional CFO before you sign the annual Loop contract

30-minute call. We'll model your all-in cost per return against the exchange revenue Loop would actually save, so you commit on math, not the sticker price.

Talk to a CFO