Financial Strategy
BellRing (BRBR) Teardown: Premier Protein's Math
BellRing Brands (NYSE: BRBR) sells Premier Protein RTD shakes and Dymatize powders through Walmart, Costco, and Amazon, reaching $2.3B in FY2025 revenue at a 16% five-year CAGR. Gross margin peaked at 35.4% in FY2024, then compressed to 33.3% in FY2025 as protein and manufacturing costs re-accelerated. The structural risk: 74% revenue concentration in three retailers, net debt/EBITDA climbing to ~2.7x after a debt-funded $477M buyback, and both the $840M Senior Notes and the $500M revolver converging toward 2030 maturities.
Key Takeaways
- The revenue growth is real and structurally earned: FY2021 to FY2025 revenue grew from $1.25B to $2.32B at a ~16% CAGR, driven by genuine volume gains in the RTD protein shake category - not price-only inflation. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025 (filed 2025-11-18).
- FY2024 was the margin peak, not the new normal: Gross margin expanded to 35.43% in FY2024 as dairy protein costs eased; FY2025 re-compressed to 33.26% as raw material and manufacturing inflation returned (+$72.1M net product cost headwind) plus a $69M legal provision. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025.
- Customer concentration at 74% is the most under-discussed structural risk: Walmart (including Sam's Club), Costco, and Amazon together accounted for 74.0% of FY2025 net sales - a single merchandising reset at any one of the three changes quarterly results materially. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025 Item 1A.
- The FY2025 buyback was debt-funded - re-leveraging the balance sheet at a gross-margin peak: BellRing repurchased 9.0M shares for $476.6M (avg $52.62) by borrowing $700M on the revolver, pushing total debt from $833M to $1,084M. Net debt/EBITDA moved from ~1.8x (FY2024) to ~2.7x (FY2025). The revolver (now $500M capacity after the August 2025 amendment) matures August 22, 2030; the $840M Senior Notes mature March 2030. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025 MD&A; Note 13.
- Q2 FY2026 shows the cost cycle is not over - and management cut full-year guidance sharply: Q2 FY2026 (March 31, 2026) gross margin compressed further to 27.0% from 32.3% a year earlier, driven by input cost inflation and tariff headwinds. After Q2, management cut FY2026 guidance to net sales of $2.325B-$2.365B and adjusted EBITDA of $315M-$335M - a ~$115M midpoint reduction from prior guidance. Source: BRBR Q2 FY2026 earnings (May 5, 2026); Yahoo Finance Jun 1, 2026; research.md.
$2.3 billion of revenue in FY2025. A ~16% five-year CAGR in a category where most food companies run at 3-5%. An asset-light model that produces $260M of operating cash flow with no factories and essentially no capex. Then Q2 FY2026 arrives with gross margin at 27.0% - down more than 800 basis points year-over-year - and the stock drops 17% on the print.
The Q2 FY2026 margin compression does not break the BellRing story. But it reveals the mechanical exposure inside it: a business whose gross margin is structurally tied to the dairy protein cost cycle, whose revenue is 74% concentrated in three retailers, and whose balance sheet now carries $1.08B in total debt - the result of a $476.6M share buyback funded by revolver borrowings, executed at a gross-margin peak, with both the $840M Senior Notes and the $500M revolver maturing near 2030.
This is the teardown of a genuinely strong consumer brand navigating the two-sided cost of its own capital allocation decisions.
Section 1 - The snapshot
| Metric | FY2025 | Q2 FY2026 | Q2 FY2025 (prior year) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | $2,316.6M | $598.7M | $588.0M |
| Revenue YoY | +16.0% | +1.8% | n/a |
| Gross margin | 33.26% | 27.01% | 32.28% |
| Operating income | $357.4M (15.4%) | $66.0M (11.0%) | $95.1M (16.2%) |
| Net income | $216.2M | $33.9M | $58.7M |
| Diluted EPS | $1.68 | $0.29 | $0.45 |
| Operating cash flow | $260.6M | n/a | n/a |
| Inventory | $330.4M | n/a | $286.1M (FY2024 yr-end) |
| Cash | $71.8M | n/a | n/a |
| Total debt | $1,084.3M | n/a | $833.1M (FY2024 yr-end) |
| Net debt (est.) | ~$1,012.5M | n/a | ~$762.3M (FY2024 yr-end) |
The five-year arc:
| Fiscal year | Revenue | YoY growth | Gross margin | Operating margin | Operating cash flow |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2021 | $1,247.1M | +26.2% | 30.96% | 13.5% | $226.1M |
| FY2022 | $1,371.5M | +10.0% | 30.75% | 15.5% | $21.0M |
| FY2023 | $1,666.8M | +21.5% | 31.81% | 17.2% | $215.6M |
| FY2024 | $1,996.2M | +19.8% | 35.43% | 19.4% | $199.6M |
| FY2025 | $2,316.6M | +16.0% | 33.26% | 15.4% | $260.6M |
| Q2 FY2026 (qtr) | $598.7M | +1.8% | 27.01% | 11.0% | n/a |
Section 2 - The business model: how they actually make money
BellRing Brands is not a DTC company. It is an asset-light branded CPG business that sells ready-to-drink protein shakes and protein powders in bulk through club retailers, mass-market chains, and Amazon. Understanding the channel mix matters more than almost any other structural fact about the company.
Premier Protein RTD shakes are 81.7% of FY2025 net sales (~$1,990M). Dymatize protein powders are 12.1% (~$280M). Everything else - a remnant PowerBar EU business - is 2.0%. The product form split (81.7% shakes, 15.8% powders) has been essentially unchanged for four years. RTD shakes are the business; powders are the secondary revenue line; and this concentration is a risk that every BRBR filing since inception has flagged verbatim.
Where does the margin come from? BellRing owns no manufacturing facilities in the US. All Premier Protein RTD shake production is contracted out. The single largest contract manufacturer provides approximately 47.7% of RTD shake supply (from three geographically diverse locations; confirmed in the FY2024 10-K). That contract expires December 31, 2027. A second, third, and fourth contract manufacturer supply the remainder - a meaningful improvement from FY2021, when one manufacturer supplied the "substantial majority" and allocation constraints capped revenue growth. Dymatize powders are manufactured at a third-party facility. BellRing owns one manufacturing plant (in Voerde, Germany, for EU bars and gels).
The gross margin is earned at the brand level - Premier Protein's price premium over private label and commodity RTD shakes. The 10-K FY2025 does not disclose retail price, but club-channel positioning at a price consumers perceive as value versus premium gym-brand alternatives is the core commercial logic. BellRing grows by gaining shelf space within existing club retailers, winning new distribution at additional mass and grocery retailers, and expanding Premier Protein's flavor/format range to defend its slot.
What drives input costs? Dairy protein (whey and casein concentrate) is the primary raw material. When global dairy protein prices decline - as they did in FY2024 - BellRing's cost of goods falls and gross margin expands. When dairy protein inflation returns - as it did in FY2025 (+$72.1M net product cost headwind) - the cycle reverses. The company cannot easily pass through these cost increases via price in the club channel without risking unit volume, so margin swings with the commodity cycle.
Here is what the demand culture around Premier Protein looks like from the consumer side. These videos are category and sentiment signals, not load-bearing financial facts.
@bmads.xo Zero Sugar Brownies!!! Soooo good - I love a sweet treat but I try to limit the sugar if I can. Ingredients: - box of zero sugar brownie mix (do NOT add the ingredients as instructed on the package) - 1 premier protein shake (11.5 oz) - 1/2 cup Greek yogurt (I used Oikos triple zero vanilla) - 1 egg - 1.5 tsp baking powder Bake at 350 for about 35-40 minutes Optional: add zero sugar chocolate frosting on top! (Adds about 56 cals per brownie if you use 10 tbmp for the whole recipe) #brownies #sugarfree #healthydessert
♬ original sound - hailey
@bmads.xo, 394.8K plays, 45.3K likes. The demand signal: Premier Protein as a baking ingredient for macro-tracking consumers. The product earns organic recipe use at scale - without a branded hashtag in sight. Social signal only.
@laurenpaley IT'S BACK! Premier Protein's Limited Edition Pumpkin Spice Protein shake is here to #pumpkinspiceyourlife 🎃 #sponsored @Premier Protein
♬ Quirky - Oleg Kirilkov
@laurenpaley (Lauren Paley), 289.1K plays, 7.2K likes. A sponsored seasonal flavor activation - the Pumpkin Spice RTD shake - showing BellRing's brand operating with flavor-drop mechanics typically used by larger beverage brands. Social signal only.
@kriola40 #30gramsofprotein #premierproteinincafelatte #1gofsugar Looking for 30g of protein I suggest Premier protein cafe latte.
♬ original sound - kriola40 MVP👑
@kriola40, 1.8K plays, 260 likes. Small-account organic advocacy for the cafe latte flavor - the kind of unprompted consumer recommendation that sustains repeat purchase in the club channel. Social signal only.
Returns are quietly eating your margin. See by how much.
Get our Real Cost of Returns calculator: plug in your numbers, see the true hit per return.
Check your inbox. We'll send the Real Cost of Returns calculator shortly.
Section 3 - Strengths: the moat that is real
1. A ~16% revenue CAGR over four years without a single acquisition. FY2021 revenue was $1,247M. FY2025 revenue was $2,317M. That is approximately 16.7% compounded, entirely organic - goodwill has been a flat $65.9M since the 2019 IPO, confirming zero acquisition contribution. The growth was driven by Premier Protein volume gains (+15% in FY2025, +25% in FY2023, +23% in FY2024 per 10-K MD&A), distribution expansion, and flavor extension - not financial engineering. For a sub-$3B revenue branded food company, sustaining that trajectory against much larger beverage incumbents (Coca-Cola, PepsiCo) is a structural achievement. Source: 10-K FY2025; edgar.json goodwill history.
2. An asset-light model that generates real cash. FY2025 operating cash flow was $260.6M - the strongest in the company's post-spin history. The model requires no factory investment: BellRing's capital expenditures are minimal (owned only a single EU facility for bars/gels, per 10-K FY2025). That cash generation funded $476.6M in buybacks in FY2025 on top of the $148M and $126M in FY2024 and FY2023, respectively. The cash is real; it is not a working capital trick. Source: 10-K FY2025 MD&A; edgar.json OCF history.
3. Co-manufacturer diversification that resolved the FY2021-2022 capacity crisis. The defining operational risk in BellRing's early public history was RTD shake supply: demand exceeded capacity. A single manufacturer supplied the "substantial majority" of RTD production and the industry's aseptic processing infrastructure could not scale fast enough. By FY2024, BellRing had added a third and fourth contract manufacturing partner, bringing the largest manufacturer's share down to approximately 47.7% (from an estimated 65-70%+ in FY2021). That de-risking is real and is confirmed verbatim in the risk-factor evolution across five 10-K filings. Source: 10k_arc.md Risk #2; BRBR 10-K FY2024 and FY2025.
4. A category tailwind that is structural, not cyclical. The RTD protein shake category is growing. Research cited in the research bundle puts functional nutrition market growth at approximately 7% per year in early 2026. The GLP-1/high-protein consumer trend is directly additive to Premier Protein's value proposition: research (Bina et al., 2026) suggests GLP-1 users increase their willingness-to-pay for protein goods. Premier Protein's positioning at the intersection of convenience, value, and protein density (30g per shake, 1g sugar) is well-placed for a consumer increasingly focused on protein-per-calorie. Source: research.md; 10-K FY2025 category commentary; Bina et al. 2026.
Section 4 - Weaknesses: the cracks in the 10-Q
1. Customer concentration at 74% is a structural fragility with no short-term fix. The FY2025 10-K states verbatim: "Our largest customers, Walmart (which includes its affiliates, including Sam's Club), Costco and Amazon, accounted for approximately 74.0% of our net sales in our year ended September 30, 2025." This figure was 74.8% in FY2024 and approximately 63.5% in FY2022. The escalation is driven by Amazon's emergence as a top-three customer - first disclosed as such in FY2024, reflecting the ecommerce channel becoming structurally material to BellRing's revenue. The 10-K Item 1A is explicit about the risk: "Currently, we do not have material long-term supply agreements with our customers, and our customers frequently reevaluate the products they carry." A single shelf-space renegotiation, promotional reset, or private-label acceleration at Costco or Sam's Club directly impacts quarterly revenue. BellRing cannot diversify this concentration quickly because the club channel is where its volume velocity lives. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025 and FY2024 Item 1A; edgar.json customer_concentration.
2. Gross margin is tied to the dairy protein cost cycle, not to brand pricing power alone. The FY2024 gross margin peak at 35.43% was not earned purely from brand investment - it was partly a function of dairy protein input costs declining as global supply chains normalized post-COVID. The FY2025 10-K MD&A states that gross margin compression to 33.26% was driven by "higher raw material and manufacturing costs, partially offset by lower freight costs" totaling $72.1M in net product cost headwinds. The margin dropped 217 basis points in one year despite 16% revenue growth. Q2 FY2026 compressed further to 27.0%. The 10-K FY2025 added a dedicated tariff risk section for the first time: "We anticipate that announced tariffs, and any potential future modifications or incremental tariffs, could increase supply chain challenges, commodity cost volatility and consumer and economic uncertainty." A brand that cannot fully defend its gross margin through price in the club channel is exposed to every commodity cycle. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025 MD&A; edgar.json gross_margin history; 10k_FY2025.md verbatim quote.
3. The FY2025 debt-funded buyback raised indebtedness sharply at a gross-margin peak. BellRing repurchased 9.0M shares for $476.6M in FY2025 (average $52.62/share) by borrowing $700M on the revolving credit facility during the year. Total debt climbed from $833.1M (FY2024) to $1,084.3M (FY2025) - composed of $840M 7.00% Senior Notes (March 2030 maturity) plus $250M drawn on the revolver. Net debt/EBITDA moved from approximately 1.8x (the best post-spin position) to approximately 2.7x. On August 22, 2025, BellRing amended the credit agreement to raise revolver capacity to $500M and extend the maturity to August 22, 2030 (with a December 14, 2029 springing date if the Senior Notes have not been refinanced). At September 30, 2025, $250M was drawn on the revolver, with $247.6M of available capacity. The 10-K notes the financial covenant maximum is a 6.0x total net-debt/EBITDA ratio; the company is well inside. The real risk is not a 2027 revolver cliff - it is that the $840M Senior Notes and the $500M revolver both converge toward 2030 maturities during a margin-re-compression cycle, narrowing refinancing flexibility. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025 MD&A; Note 13 (filed 2025-11-18); edgar.json.
4. The $69M legal provision and the single largest contract manufacturer agreement both expire by December 2027. The FY2025 10-K discloses a "provision for legal matters of $69.0 million" as a single-year charge that alone drove operating profit down $30.3M despite 16% revenue growth. The nature of the legal matter is not fully characterized in publicly available filing excerpts. Separately, the primary agreement with the single largest RTD co-manufacturer - responsible for approximately 47.7% of Premier Protein RTD shake supply - expires December 31, 2027. Both items create FY2027 uncertainty: the legal matter may resolve (or not) and the co-manufacturer contract renegotiation is a concentration-of-supply event at a moment when the company has already raised its debt load materially. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025; 10k_FY2025.md; edgar.json contract_manufacturing.
Section 5 - Opportunities and threats
The opportunity side is clearer than the risk register suggests at first glance.
Premier Protein's distribution story still has room. FY2025 growth of 17% on Premier Protein (up from 85.4% to 85.9% of total net sales) was driven by 15% volume growth and distribution gains - the brand is still winning new shelf space rather than merely defending existing positions. Dymatize grew 13% in FY2025 on 23% volume growth, with international volumes outperforming domestic. International represents a meaningful longer-runway opportunity for a brand with minimal international penetration to date. The 10-Q and earnings call commentary for Q2 FY2026 noted Premier Protein "Ultimate" (42g protein) and a Premier Protein "Sparkling Soda" as product extensions being developed - indicating management sees format-expansion optionality within the existing brand.
GLP-1 adoption is structurally additive to high-protein product demand. Consumers using weight-management medications are being advised to increase protein intake to preserve muscle mass. Premier Protein's positioning (30g protein, 1g sugar, 160 calories) is directly aligned with that behavioral shift. The academic literature (Bina et al., 2026) documents increased willingness-to-pay for protein among GLP-1 users. This is not captured in any BellRing filing as of FY2025 but is the most discussed structural category catalyst in the investment community.
The threats are real and worth naming precisely. Coca-Cola's Fairlife Core Power is the most cited competitive threat: it is cited in Beverage Digest data as a leading growth brand in the $6B US protein shake category, positioned at a higher price point and riding aggressive distribution investment by Coca-Cola's bottler network. Fairlife is premium where Premier Protein is value-oriented - meaning they compete less directly on price and more directly on shelf space and consumer occasion. The larger threat is private-label RTD protein shakes in club stores: same shelf set, lower price, higher margin for the retailer. That dynamic is the structural reason BellRing invests heavily in promotional activity (which drove the FY2024 volume surge at the cost of lower average net selling prices per the FY2024 10-K).
Tariff risk on international inputs is a first-time FY2025 disclosure and, based on Q2 FY2026 commentary citing freight cost increases as a margin driver, appears to have materialized faster than initially flagged.
Section 6 - The macro environment
BellRing is flying through four macro forces simultaneously - two point in the same direction, two point opposite.
The structural tailwind: high-protein consumer demand has moved from niche (gym-goers) to mainstream (any household tracking macros, managing weight, or responding to GLP-1 medication guidance). The functional nutrition category is growing at approximately 7% per year per the research bundle. Club-channel volume velocity benefits directly because consumers who have adopted a protein shake habit buy in bulk. This is not a trend at risk of reversing quickly - it is a decade-long dietary shift with meaningful institutional inertia (healthcare providers, influencer culture, and GLP-1 adoption all reinforce protein consumption).
The cost-cycle headwind: dairy protein input costs are volatile and directionally up in FY2025 and FY2026. The FY2024 gross margin peak was partly a function of protein cost relief; that relief has reversed. Manufacturing cost inflation (packaging, labor, aseptic processing equipment) adds a second layer. BellRing's asset-light model means it is fully exposed to contract manufacturing cost inflation with limited ability to internalize savings through owned-facility efficiency programs.
The tariff and freight overlay: both are margin-compressive and both appeared in FY2026. The Q2 FY2026 commentary cited "higher freight and input costs" as the primary gross margin driver. Container rates (Drewry WCI benchmark cited in research.md) rose through early 2026. Tariff pass-through on internationally sourced protein powders and packaging adds an additional unpredictable cost layer - and BellRing added a verbatim tariff risk paragraph to the FY2025 10-K for the first time.
The GLP-1 ambiguity: the demand effect of GLP-1 adoption on Premier Protein is genuinely uncertain at the category level. The most optimistic read is that it accelerates household penetration of high-protein products. The most cautious read is that GLP-1 users eat less overall and buy fewer bulk units. BellRing's management has not flagged this as a material risk in the filings, suggesting they believe the demand effect is neutral-to-positive. The evidence-base is thin enough that a CFO should monitor it as a leading indicator rather than a confirmed fact.
Section 7 - The CFO verdict and the operator bridge
Here is the read on BellRing Brands from a CFO's vantage point.
The business model is structurally sound and the growth is real. A 16.7% compounded organic revenue CAGR from FY2021 to FY2025, driven by genuine volume gains in a category with secular tailwinds, is not something most consumer brands achieve for four consecutive years. The asset-light manufacturing model produces real cash - $260.6M OCF in FY2025 - and the co-manufacturer diversification that management executed over four years genuinely reduced the single-point operational risk that defined FY2021-2022. As discussed in our HIMS teardown, the question to ask about any growth number is whether the structure that produced it is durable or borrowed from conditions outside the company's control. For BellRing, the volume story is durable. The margin story is partially borrowed from the commodity cycle.
The Street is split along roughly the right fault line. The bull thesis (Buy consensus from most named brokers, price targets in the $27-34 range as of mid-2026 per QuiverQuant data) centers on category strength, brand power, and the belief that gross margin will recover as protein costs normalize and promotions unwind. We agree with that thesis directionally: a brand producing $2.3B in revenue with genuine consumer pull in a growing category has a recoverable margin structure if input costs cooperate.
Where we push back is on the capital allocation context the bull case often underweights. BellRing bought back $476.6M of stock in FY2025 at an average price of $52.62 per share, funded by revolver borrowings. As of mid-June 2026 the stock was trading around $9.46 (Macrotrends, June 18, 2026), implying the FY2025 buyback was executed at roughly 5.6x the current price. The buyback did not create permanent value destruction - it was an authorized capital return - but it elevated indebtedness at the top of a gross margin cycle. The true sequencing problem: total indebtedness rose from $833M to $1,084M precisely as input cost inflation was beginning to reverse the FY2024 margin peak, narrowing the EBITDA base available to service that incremental debt. That is poor sequencing, and it is not something the sell-side bull thesis engages seriously.
The bear case centers on margin normalization being structurally difficult (promotional intensity required to hold club-channel velocity, Fairlife/private-label competition, GLP-1 ambiguity). We partially disagree: BellRing has demonstrated the ability to grow volume without proportionally expanding SG&A (SG&A as a share of revenue was 17.1% in FY2025, up from 14.3% in FY2024 - the legal provision drove that, not structural cost creep). The category is not rolling over. The Eightx differentiation: the real risk is not that the category weakens, but that the combination of a concentrated 2030 refinancing window (Senior Notes + revolver converging), compressed gross margins, and 74% revenue concentration in three retailers creates a negotiating position where BellRing has less balance-sheet room to absorb a promotional or cost shock than it did in FY2024.
Prescribing "diversify customer concentration" or "raise gross margin" as the obvious fixes does not survive a realism check. BellRing cannot reduce Walmart/Costco/Amazon concentration quickly - those retailers are the market for club-format RTD protein shakes. It cannot raise gross margin independently of the dairy protein cycle. The actionable priorities: term out or reduce the $250M revolver draw well ahead of the 2030 window to ease the Senior Notes refinancing; extend the co-manufacturer contract before December 2027; and protect the promotional structure at the three key retailers to defend volume velocity during the margin trough.
The operator bridge. Your $5-80M consumer or food brand very likely has a version of the BellRing pattern in miniature. The specific tell is this: your gross margin may be higher than it was two years ago not because your brand is more powerful, but because an input cost cycle turned in your favor. When that cycle reverses - as protein costs did for BellRing between FY2024 and FY2025 - the P&L reveals whether the margin was yours to keep or was lent to you by the commodity market.
I see this in client work regularly: a brand that ran 45% gross margin in 2021 when shipping costs collapsed and raw material costs fell, then watched gross margin drop to 36% in 2023 when both reversed. The founder read the 2021 margin as the new floor and hired, committed, and invested against it. The 2023 reality came as a shock. The early warning is not in the gross margin number itself - it is in whether your gross margin is moving in the same direction as your input cost index. When those two lines diverge (margin up, input costs also up), you have pricing power. When they converge (margin compresses despite revenue growth), you are losing the spread.
Early-warning scorecard - five lines that catch the BellRing pattern 12 months early in your own business:
- Input cost index vs. gross margin direction: track your 2-3 largest COGS components month-over-month. If they are rising and gross margin is not, you are absorbing the inflation. Quantify the dollar amount absorbed. BellRing's $72.1M FY2025 net product cost headwind would have been visible in their COGS-per-unit trend 12 months before the annual filing.
- Revenue concentration in your top 3 accounts: if your top 3 accounts are above 60% of revenue and none has a long-term purchase agreement, you do not have a diversified revenue base - you have a key-account dependency. Model what happens to your contribution margin if the largest account reduces orders by 20% for one quarter.
- Net debt/EBITDA vs. cash generation timing: when indebtedness climbs and gross margin is compressing simultaneously, the refinancing window closes at the exact moment you need it most. Monitor net debt/EBITDA quarterly, not annually.
- Promotional spend as a share of gross revenue: BellRing's FY2024 volume surge (+25% volume on "higher promotional activity which resulted in lower average net selling prices" per the 10-K) is a warning sign worth watching. Volume bought with promotion at the cost of net selling prices is not the same as volume earned from brand pull.
- Co-manufacturer contract duration and concentration: if one supplier provides more than 40% of your critical product supply and their contract expires within 18 months, that is a refinancing event for your supply chain, not just a procurement matter. Know the date and start early.
If you want to run this scorecard against your own numbers before you reach a margin trough you did not see coming, that is a fractional CFO conversation. The analysis takes a few hours. The cost of not doing it is visible in any quarterly earnings call where management explains why margin came in "below expectations."
Related reading. For how DTC-native nutrition brands run the same P&L, see our Magic Spoon teardown, our Ritual teardown, and our AG1 teardown.
Sources and methodology
SEC EDGAR is the primary source for every financial figure in this post. BellRing Brands, Inc. (CIK 0001772016) files on SEC EDGAR under 10-K and 10-Q form types. The specific filings used: 10-K FY2025 (filed 2025-11-18, accession 0001772016-25-000153); 10-K FY2024 (filed 2024-11-19, accession 0001772016-24-000108); 10-K FY2023 (filed 2023-11-21, accession 0001772016-23-000091); 10-K FY2022 (filed 2022-11-17, accession 0001772016-22-000061); 10-K FY2021 (filed 2021-11-19, accession 0001772016-21-000118). Revenue, gross margin, operating income, net income, OCF, inventory, cash, total debt, and all balance sheet figures are taken directly from XBRL financial statements in these filings as compiled in edgar.json (pulled 2026-06-23 via SEC EDGAR MCP, CIK 0001772016).
Q2 FY2026 figures (revenue $598.7M, gross margin 27.01%, operating income $66.0M, net income $33.9M, diluted EPS $0.29) are from the BellRing Brands Q2 FY2026 earnings report (May 5, 2026), confirmed in edgar.json quarterly_recent. Q2 FY2025 comparison period (gross margin 32.28%, operating income $95.1M) from edgar.json. FY2026 full-year guidance (post-Q2 cut): net sales $2.325B-$2.365B and adjusted EBITDA $315M-$335M, per BellRing Q2 FY2026 earnings materials and confirmed in research.md (Yahoo Finance, Jun 1, 2026). The prior guidance of $2.41B-$2.46B net sales / $425-$440M Adj EBITDA was issued before Q2 FY2026 results and has been superseded.
Parallel.ai ultra deep research and Perplexity provided the competitive landscape, analyst thesis synthesis, macro commentary, and category sizing. Street analyst consensus (Buy/Outperform consensus, median price target ~$32 from QuiverQuant data as of mid-2026) sourced to Perplexity research in research.md. Individual broker calls (Barclays, Morgan Stanley, DA Davidson) sourced to dated TipRanks/Yahoo Finance press items cited in research.md. These are third-party summaries of broker notes, not primary broker research.
The $69M legal provision is disclosed in the FY2025 10-K as an item affecting comparability. Its specific legal nature is not characterized in publicly available filing excerpts reviewed for this post. Any reader relying on this figure for investment analysis should review the full 10-K and related disclosures directly.
The net debt/EBITDA estimates (~1.8x FY2024, ~2.7x FY2025) are approximated using operating income plus estimated D&A from edgar.json and the notes field ("ebitda_approx" and "net_debt_ebitda_approx" fields). These are estimates; BellRing does not report a standard EBITDA figure in the filings reviewed. The $69M legal provision excluded from the pre-legal EBITDA estimate is flagged in edgar.json. Debt composition confirmed from 10-K Note 13: $840.0M 7.00% Senior Notes due March 2030 + $250.0M revolver drawn = $1,090.0M total principal, $1,084.3M after issuance cost netting. Revolver capacity raised to $500M and maturity extended to August 22, 2030 (springing December 14, 2029) per the First Amendment dated August 22, 2025, disclosed in 10-K MD&A and Note 13.
GLP-1 / protein demand citation (Bina et al., 2026) is from a peer-reviewed article cited in research.md as "GLP-1 medications increase consumer willingness-to-pay for protein goods." This is academic research, not company-reported data. BellRing has not cited GLP-1 as a material factor in its FY2025 10-K.
Social signal is colour only. The three TikTok embeds in Section 2 are from the Premier Protein consumer community and carry no financial claim. @bmads.xo (394.8K plays, 45.3K likes), @laurenpaley (289.1K plays, 7.2K likes, sponsored content labeled #sponsored in the post itself), and @kriola40 (1.8K plays, 260 likes) were selected from tiktok_top5_embeds.json as illustrative of demand culture, brand partnership activity, and organic consumer advocacy. They are not evidence of any revenue or margin figure.
Limitations. BellRing does not disclose revenue by retailer (only the combined top-3 at 74.0%); individual Walmart vs. Costco vs. Amazon splits are not available from the filings reviewed. The $69M legal provision's nature is not publicly characterized; outcome is unknown. The co-manufacturer contract expiring December 2027 creates FY2027 supply-chain uncertainty not modeled here. Q1 FY2026 revenue is derived (cost of revenue $376.5M implies revenue approximately $537.3M) and not directly available from the XBRL pull; this figure is flagged as derived in edgar.json. This post reflects filings and disclosures current through June 23, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
how does bellring brands actually make money?
BellRing is an asset-light convenient-nutrition company. Its revenue is almost entirely Premier Protein RTD shakes (81.7% of FY2025 net sales) sold in bulk through Walmart (including Sam's Club), Costco, and Amazon. Contract manufacturers produce the product; BellRing owns the brand, the recipes, and the customer relationships. Gross margin comes from the price premium a trusted protein brand commands over private-label alternatives. Source: 10-K FY2025.
what caused bellring's gross margin to fall from fy2024 to fy2025?
FY2024's 35.43% gross margin was the peak of a protein-cost-relief cycle: dairy protein input prices eased and volume growth created manufacturing overhead efficiency. FY2025 saw both reverse: net product costs increased by $72.1M (raw materials plus manufacturing inflation, partly offset by lower freight), compressing gross margin to 33.26%. A first-time tariff risk disclosure in the FY2025 10-K signals the input cost pressure may continue. Q2 FY2026 gross margin of 27.0% confirms the trough has not yet cleared. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025 MD&A; edgar.json.
what is the bellring brands revolver maturity risk?
On August 22, 2025, BellRing amended its credit agreement, raising revolver capacity from $250M to $500M and extending the maturity to August 22, 2030 (with a springing maturity of December 14, 2029 only if the $840M 7.00% Senior Notes have not been refinanced by that date). There is no March 2027 maturity risk - that was the original 2022 agreement date, superseded by the amendment before the FY2025 10-K was filed. In FY2025, BellRing borrowed $700M on the revolver and repaid $450M, leaving $250M drawn at September 30, 2025 out of $500M capacity ($247.6M available). Total debt at September 30, 2025 was $1,084.3M: $840M Senior Notes plus $250M revolver drawn, less $5.7M of deferred issuance costs. The real refinancing dynamic: both the Senior Notes ($840M, March 2030) and the revolver ($500M capacity, August 2030) converge in the same window, at a moment when FY2026 EBITDA guidance has been cut to $315M-$335M. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025 Note 13; MD&A (filed 2025-11-18).
how concentrated is bellring's customer base?
Extremely concentrated. Walmart (including Sam's Club), Costco, and Amazon together accounted for 74.0% of FY2025 net sales and 74.8% in FY2024. The 10-K Item 1A states: "Currently, we do not have material long-term supply agreements with our customers, and our customers frequently reevaluate the products they carry." A single shelf-space renegotiation or private-label acceleration at any of the three could directly hit quarterly revenue. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025 and FY2024.
who are bellring brands' main competitors?
In the RTD protein shake segment: Coca-Cola's Fairlife Core Power (premium positioning, cited as a leading growth brand in the $6B US protein shake category per Beverage Digest), PepsiCo's Muscle Milk and Gatorade Protein, and Orgain. In protein powders, Dymatize competes with Optimum Nutrition (Glanbia) and BSN. Private-label RTD protein shakes in club stores represent the most direct volume threat, competing on the same shelf sets at lower price. Source: research.md; BRBR 10-K FY2025 competition section.
does bellring have too much debt?
Not at a covenant-breach level, but the indebtedness trajectory warrants attention. Total debt rose from $833M (FY2024) to $1,084M (FY2025) as BellRing borrowed to fund a $476.6M buyback. Estimated net debt/EBITDA moved from approximately 1.8x to approximately 2.7x. The financial covenant maximum is a 6.0x total net-debt/EBITDA ratio per the Credit Agreement - the company is well inside. The real concern is sequencing: the $840M Senior Notes (March 2030) and the $500M revolver (August 2030) both mature in the same window, while FY2026 EBITDA guidance has been cut to $315M-$335M from prior expectations. A compressed EBITDA base entering a concentrated refinancing window is where balance sheet constraint becomes real. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025 Note 13; edgar.json.
what is the glp-1 risk to premier protein?
GLP-1 weight-loss drugs reduce appetite and total caloric consumption, which could reduce protein shake purchase frequency. The counterargument: academic research (Bina et al., 2026) suggests GLP-1 users increase willingness-to-pay for protein goods and reduce price sensitivity, as they prioritize meeting daily protein targets with fewer total calories. BellRing has not flagged GLP-1 as a material risk in its FY2025 10-K. The direction of this effect at category level remains genuinely debated. Source: BRBR 10-K FY2025; Bina et al. 2026 (research.md).
what happened at bellring brands in q2 fy2026?
Q2 FY2026 (quarter ended March 31, 2026) revenue was $598.7M, up 1.8% year-over-year - a sharp deceleration from the 16-20% growth BellRing delivered in FY2023-FY2025. Volume grew 10.8% but price/mix fell 9.0%, reflecting a sustained promotional environment and consumer price sensitivity. Gross margin compressed to 27.01% from 32.28% a year earlier. Net income fell to $33.9M ($0.29 diluted EPS) from $58.7M ($0.45) a year earlier. Management cut FY2026 full-year guidance significantly: net sales $2.325B-$2.365B (approximately 0-2% growth) and adjusted EBITDA $315M-$335M, a reduction of approximately $110M-$115M at the midpoint from prior guidance. Source: BRBR Q2 FY2026 earnings (May 5, 2026); Yahoo Finance Jun 1, 2026; edgar.json; research.md.
